Panel: How Does Engagement Happen?

1.25 CME Credits

1.0 CE Credit

ABQAURP sub-specialty credits: Patient Safety/Risk Management 1.25, Physician Advisor 1.25, Managed Care 1.25, Case Management 1.25, Transitions of Care 1.25

Legislating health care policies and regulations is a difficult task that once in practice may have unintended consequences with long-term implications. The good news is that while issues concerning access and reimbursement continue, the underlying work to address population health, quality improvement, and patient safety is forging ahead.

This session was recorded live at our 2018 Annual Health Care Quality & Patient Safety Conference and is a portion of the online course entitled: Navigating What’s Next with Population Health, Quality Improvement, and Patient Safety.

Engaged employees achieve higher performance benchmarks which results in improved patient outcomes and organizational achievements. This course will provide methods to identify engaged employees and how to avoid turnover and physician burnout to position your organization for success.

At the conclusion of the activity, attendees will be able to:
  • Define Population Health Management
  • Define engagement
  • Discuss how engagement is measured
  • Analyze the impacts of disengagement
  • Explain how we achieve desired results

This course is intended for Physicians of all specialties, Nurses, and Other Health Care Professionals with appropriate CME credit and nursing contact hours offered for each profession.

The American Board of Quality Assurance and Utilization Review Physicians, Inc. (ABQAURP) is accredited by the Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education to provide continuing medical education for physicians.

ABQAURP designates this enduring material for a maximum of 1.25 AMA PRA Category 1 Credits™. Physicians should claim only the credit commensurate with the extent of their participation in the activity.

ABQAURP is an approved provider of continuing education for nurses. This activity is designated for 1.0 contact hour through the Florida Board of Nursing, Provider # 50-94. CE Broker Tracking# 20-637099.

This program is approved for Category 2 credit by the American Osteopathic Association.

All participants must achieve a final assessment score of at least seventy percent (70%) for recertification and continuing education credits. You have 60 days to complete the course after ordering. Please note: Exam candidates taking the Core Body of Knowledge and Diplomates renewing their certification may have less time to complete, as determined by deadlines imposed.

This activity is valid from October 22, 2018 through March 15, 2021. Original release date: April 13, 2018.

Please read the ABQAURP Privacy Policy and we suggest strongly that you read the System Requirements before continuing.

Please Sign In to receive the member discount.

COURSE FEES: Diplomate $29.00      Member $34.00      Non-Member $42.00

Purchase Course

About The Authors
Members of the CME Committee, Planners, and Faculty have disclosed to ABQAURP any relevant financial relationships. No relevant financial relationships or conflicts of interest exist in regard to the content of this online activity.

Mary Bernadette Forkin, RN, BSN, CHCQM, MSHS
Ms. Forkin currently serves as the Director Clinical Quality Improvement for MBF Qualitycare and has been a practicing nurse for over 31 years. She has practiced as an RN in Intensive/Cardiac/Shock Trauma Step-down care units, and has 11 years of healthcare insurance experience. More recently she spent 8 years in the acute care teaching hospital regulatory arena as the Director Clinical Quality Improvement. Ms. Forkin achieved certification as an ABQAURP Diplomate in 1998, and has been a member of ABQAURP’s Board of Directors since 2010.

Tabassum Salam, MD, CHCQM
Dr. Tabassum Salam serves as Senior Physician Advisor for Population Health at Christiana Care Health System. She leads and orchestrates population health management projects for the health system. She also serves as the Medical Director of Carelink CareNow services, leading a care coordination team of nurses, pharmacists and social workers who care for large populations through the state of Delaware. Her Carelink CareNow team received the prestigious 2017 John M. Eisenberg Patient Safety and Quality Award, for Local Level Innovation in Patient Safety and Quality, jointly presented by The Joint Commission and the National Quality Forum. She is also the recipient of the 2017 Diplomate Achievement Award from the American Board of Quality Assurance & Utilization Review Physicians.

Sunil K. Sinha, MD, CHCQM, MBA, FACP
Dr. Sunil Sinha is Chair of the CME Committee and is the Vice President and Chief Medical Officer of the Barnes Jewish Christian Health System Medical Group. Dr. Sinha previously served as Director of Clinical Quality and Patient Safety with JenCare / ChenMed Neighborhood Medical Centers and was Chief Medical Officer at Bon Secours Memorial Regional Medical Center. He is a board-certified internist and served as senior examiner and judge for the Malcolm Baldrige National Quality Award program; he serves as a juror for the National Quality Forum’s National Health Care Quality Award and the Joint Commission’s Eisenberg Award. Dr. Sinha has been an ABQAURP Diplomate since 2000; and has been an asset to ABQAURP’s CME Committee.

Dr. Howard Stein currently serves as the Associate Director of Medical Affairs of CentraState Medical Center in New Jersey. Acting as a full time Physician Advisor, he is also the President of CentraState Medical Associates. As a founding member, Dr. Stein has served on the Executive Board of the American College of Physician Advisors since its inception. Dr. Stein is board certified as a family physician, previously serving as a U.S. Air Force physician.

Purchase Course