Removing Barriers to Achieve Your Population Health Management Goals

1.0 CME Credit

1.0 CE Credit

ABQAURP sub-specialty credits: Patient Safety/Risk Management 1.0, Physician Advisor 1.0, Managed Care 1.0, Case Management 1.0, Transitions of Care 1.0

Legislating health care policies and regulations is a difficult task that once in practice may have unintended consequences with long-term implications. The good news is that while issues concerning access and reimbursement continue, the underlying work to address population health, quality improvement, and patient safety is forging ahead.

This session was recorded live at our 2018 Annual Health Care Quality & Patient Safety Conference and is a portion of the online course entitled: Navigating What’s Next with Population Health, Quality Improvement, and Patient Safety.

In this era of rising costs and ongoing pressures on reimbursement, the transition to population health is here; sometimes assuming other names such as value-based payments, accountable care, or bundled payments. Caring for large groups of patients, while simultaneously optimizing clinical outcomes and controlling health care costs, gives us the opportunity to organize health care in novel ways. In order to do so successfully, we need to be aware of potential barriers to our success, and identify workable solutions. This course offers methods to realign priorities and goals, implement culture change among patients and providers, and vetting the potential benefits of information technology.

At the conclusion of the activity, attendees will be able to:
  • Define Population Health Management
  • Examine components needed for effective Population Health Management initiatives
  • Analyze barriers to Population Health Management
  • Apply brainstorming interventions to remove Population Health Management barriers

This course is intended for Physicians of all specialties, Nurses, and Other Health Care Professionals with appropriate CME credit and nursing contact hours offered for each profession.

The American Board of Quality Assurance and Utilization Review Physicians, Inc. (ABQAURP) is accredited by the Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education to provide continuing medical education for physicians.

ABQAURP designates this enduring material for a maximum of 1.0 AMA PRA Category 1 Credit™. Physicians should claim only the credit commensurate with the extent of their participation in the activity.

ABQAURP is an approved provider of continuing education for nurses. This activity is designated for 1.0 contact hour through the Florida Board of Nursing, Provider # 50-94. CE Broker Tracking# 20-637089.

This program is approved for Category 2 credit by the American Osteopathic Association.

All participants must achieve a final assessment score of at least seventy percent (70%) for recertification and continuing education credits. You have 60 days to complete the course after ordering. Please note: Exam candidates taking the Core Body of Knowledge and Diplomates renewing their certification may have less time to complete, as determined by deadlines imposed.

This activity is valid from October 22, 2018 through March 15, 2021. Original release date: April 13, 2018.

Please read the ABQAURP Privacy Policy and we suggest strongly that you read the System Requirements before continuing.

Please Sign In to receive the member discount.

COURSE FEES: Diplomate $29.00      Member $34.00      Non-Member $42.00

Purchase Course

About The Authors
Members of the CME Committee, Planners, and Faculty have disclosed to ABQAURP any relevant financial relationships. No relevant financial relationships or conflicts of interest exist in regard to the content of this online activity.

Tabassum Salam, MD, CHCQM
Dr. Tabassum Salam serves as Senior Physician Advisor for Population Health at Christiana Care Health System. She leads and orchestrates population health management projects for the health system. She also serves as the Medical Director of Carelink CareNow services, leading a care coordination team of nurses, pharmacists and social workers who care for large populations through the state of Delaware. Her Carelink CareNow team received the prestigious 2017 John M. Eisenberg Patient Safety and Quality Award, for Local Level Innovation in Patient Safety and Quality, jointly presented by The Joint Commission and the National Quality Forum. She is also the recipient of the 2017 Diplomate Achievement Award from the American Board of Quality Assurance & Utilization Review Physicians.

Purchase Course